Latest News
IT Manager Job Vacancy
12/04/2017 > The SPRFMO Secretariat is seeking a part-time “IT Manager” Read more >>
SPRFMO-SC 3rd workshop (Deep Water)
20/03/2017 > Registrations for the Workshop are now open Read more >>
USA becomes a Full Member of SPRFMO
20/01/2017 > The United States of America has become a full member of the SPRFMO Read more >>
4th Scientific Committee
14/10/2016 > The 4th meeting of the SPRFMO Scientific Committee began on 10 October 2015 in The Hague, Kingdom of the Netherlands. Read more >>

The South Pacific Regional Fisheries Management Organisation is an inter-governmental organisation that is committed to the long-term conservation and sustainable use of the fishery resources of the South Pacific Ocean and in so doing safeguarding the marine ecosystems in which the resources occur. The SPRFMO Convention applies to the high seas of the South Pacific, covering about a fourth of the Earth's high seas areas. Currently, the main commercial resources fished in the SPRFMO Area are Jack mackerel and jumbo flying squid in the Southeast Pacific and, to a much lesser degree, deep-sea species often associated with seamounts in the Southwest Pacific.

The Organisation consists of a Commission and a number of subsidiary bodies. New Zealand is the Depositary for the SPRFMO Convention and hosts the SPRFMO Secretariat in Wellington. 

The Commission has currently 15 Members from Asia, Europe, the Americas, and Oceania:

- Australia                                                - Republic of Chile                          
- People's Republic of China                   - Cook Islands
- Republic of Cuba                                  - Republic of Ecuador 
- European Union                                    -
Kingdom of Denmark  in 
                                                                  respect of  the Faroe Islands

- Republic of Korea                                 - New Zealand 
- Republic of Peru                                   -
Russian Federation 
- Chinese Taipei                                      - The United States of America
- Republic of Vanuatu                                      

Cooperating non-Contracting Parties (CNCPs) are:
Republic of Liberia and Republic of Panama.

     Trawler full bag fd23.jpg

Photo: NIWA