Jack mackerel school of fish

Signature of Convention


New Zealand signed the Convention on 1 February 2010, followed shortly by the Cook Islands who signed on 3 February 2010. Chile signed on 23 February 2010, Colombia on 16 March 2010 and Peru on 20 April 2010.

More information on the status of the Convention is available here.

The signature text of the Convention is held by the Government of New Zealand as Depositary of the Convention.

The Convention will be open for signature from 1 February 2010 by:

  • a. States, the regional economic integration organisation and the other entities referred to in Article 1, paragraph 2 (b), that participated in the International Consultations on the Establishment of the South Pacific Regional Fisheries Management Organisation, and
  • b. any other State or any other entity referred to in Article 1, paragraph 2 (b), that has jurisdiction over waters adjacent to the Convention Area.

Such States, regional economic integration organisation and entities that wish to sign the Convention should contact the Legal Division of the New Zealand Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade to make arrangements to sign the Convention.

The contact person is Marisa Macpherson:

Email: [email protected]
Telephone: +64 (0)4 439 8023