Jack mackerel school of fish


Commission Members

  1. Australia
  2. Belize
  3. Republic of Chile
  4. People's Republic of China
  5. Cook Islands
  6. Republic of Cuba
  7. Republic of Ecuador
  8. European Union
  9. Kingdom of Denmark in respect of the Faroe Islands
  10. Republic of Korea
  11. New Zealand
  12. Republic of Panama
  13. Republic of Peru
  14. Russian Federation
  15. Chinese Taipei
  16. The United States of America
  17. Republic of Vanuatu


Cooperating non-Contracting Parties (CNCPs)

States or fishing entities whose vessels fish in the Convention Area are requested to become party to the Convention or to agree to cooperate fully in the implementation of conservation and management measures adopted by the Commission (see Article 32 of the Convention, Non-Parties). To facilitate such cooperation, the Commission has established Decision 2-2018 to allow recognition of the status of Cooperating non-Contracting Parties (CNCPs).

  1. Country of Curaçao
  2. Republic of Liberia


Observer Organisations

Rule 9.1 of the Rules of Procedure regulates the admittance of other States or entities and organisations as Observers in the meetings of the Commission and its subsidiary bodies.


States and other entities that have participated in the meetings of the SPRFMO

The meetings of the SPRFMO are open to States or any other entity referred to in Article 1 paragraph 2(b) of the Convention that has jurisdiction over waters adjacent to the Convention Area or with an interest in the work of the Commission. The following have participated in Commission meetings:

  1. France (Territories)
  2. Kingdom of Tonga
  3. Republic of Angola
  4. Japan
  5. Republic of Colombia

Inter-Governmental Organisations

The FAO, other specialised agencies of the United Nations, other regional fisheries management organisations and other relevant intergovernmental organisations, invited by the Commission. The following have participated in Commission meetings:

  1. Advisory Centre on WTO Law (ACWL)
  2. Agreement on the Conservation of Albatrosses and Petrels (ACAP)
  3. Commission for the Conservation of Antarctic Marine Living Resources (CCAMLR)
  4. Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)
  5. Inter-American Tropical Tuna Commission (IATTC)
  6. International Labour Organization (ILO)
  7. International Monitoring, Control and Surveillance Network (IMCS)
  8. North Pacific Fisheries Commission (NPFC)
  9. Permanent Commission for the South Pacific (CPPS, for its name in Spanish)
  10. Pacific Islands Fisheries Forum Agency (FFA)
  11. Red contra la Pesca INDNR
  12. United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)
  13. United Nations Division for Ocean Affairs and the Law of the Sea (DOALOS)
  14. Western and Central Pacific Fisheries Commission (WCPFC)
  15. World Meteorological Organization (WMO) 


Non-Governmental Organisations

Non-governmental organisations (NGOs), including environmental organisations and fishing industry organisations with an interest in the work of the Commission, invited by the Commission pursuant to paragraph 2 of Rule 9. The following NGOs have observer status in SPRFMO:

  2. Associated Press (AP)
  3. Australian National Centre for Ocean Resources & Security (ANCORS)
  4. Birdlife International
  5. Comité para el Manejo Sustentable del Calamar Gigante del Pacifico Sur (CALAMASUR)
  6. Center for Development and Sustainable Fisheries (CeDePesca)
  7. Charles Darwin Foundation (CDF)
  8. Conservation International (CIF)
  9. Deep Sea Conservation Coalition (DSCC)
  10. Environment and Conservation Organisations of New Zealand (ECONZ)
  11. Environmental Defense Fund (EDF)
  12. Fisheries Transparency Initiative (FiTi)
  13. Fundacion TERRAM
  14. Global Fishing Watch (GFW)
  15. Greenpeace International
  16. Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies
  17. International Coalition of Fisheries Associations (ICFA)
  18. Marine Stewardship Council (MSC)
  19. High Seas Fisheries Group Inc. (HSFG)
  20. Oceana
  21. The Pew Charitable Trusts (PEW)
  22. World Wide Fund For Nature (WWF)